Update and goals

I happened upon a nice idea on one of my favourite blogs latele, a new take on the popular 101 goals in 1001 days lists. It is to do 10 goals in 101 days. This seems easier, but if you would do the same thing ten times in a row you would end up with the same number of things done (save one, so almost). The good thing about it is that is gives more flexibility to make up new goals. How would I know what I would like to accomplish two years from now, I don’t even know what my life will look like by then.

So I am now thinkin about my goals, and to plan it so that it finishes on December 31. Here are some ideas I have now:

  • Defend my phd thesis. This is definitely a goal, but as it is now under revision by the thesis committee, I have no control over how long the process takes. Also the time and date of the ceremony depend on when the auditorium is available, and when all committee members and my supervisor can make it. So I will try, but it is uncertain when this will happen.
  • Find a new job. I do have some time left to do this in, but ideally I would like to start something new on January 2. So I am busy writing letters now.
  • Run a 5k. This I have been thinking about for a long time, and it might just be a good time to do it.
  • Choose a great planner for 2013, with my new job in mind. I want it to be fund and professional at the same time.
  • Find a yoga studio in my neighbourhood and try it out.
  • Knit a scarf, which would mean actually learning to knit first.
  • Seriously work on my Archimedes translation. This did not get enough attention lately.
  • Fill up my cd and dvd lists with new suggestions, by asking recommendations and poking around on the internet.
  • Regularly post here. I think the all stars tour, which I am participating in, could help me do that. I already have a few posts scheduled.
  • Host a tapas party for friends. Something I have been planning to do for ages now.

Ok, this is not yet my final list yet, but there are more than enough ideas. When I have settled on my 10 goals I will share them.

Does anyone have experience with this, or with the larger 101 in 1001 version? I would love to hear some stories on how it went.

Leave a Reply

